UMO Global Student Challenge 2013

Traffic Control Using Piezoelectric

Published On : 30-Sep-13 05:42:11 | 1084 Views 4 Votes
What is the identified problem?

Normal automatic traffic controller gives green signals with some constant time delay. Here controller works without taking density into consideration. This is the main drawback present in the system.

Brief about Solution

lPiezoelectric WIM systems contain one or more piezoelectric sensors that detect a change in voltage caused by pressure exerted on the sensor by an axle and thereby measure the axle s weight. lAs a vehicle passes over the piezoelectric sensor, the system records the sensor output voltage and calculates the dynamic load. lThe typical piezoelectric WIM system consists of at least one piezoelectric sensor and two IDL’s. lThe piezoelectric sensor is placed in the travel lane perpendicular to the travel direction. lThe inductive loops are placed upstream and downstream of the piezoelectric sensor
lThe upstream loop detects vehicles and alerts the system to an approaching vehicle. lThe downstream loop provides data to determine vehicle speed and axle spacing based on the time it takes the vehicle to traverse the distance between the loops.
lIn this way piezoelectric material counts the  number of vehicles at each junction . lHere count of each junction is compared with  other and green light glows at that junction whose vehicle count is high.

How well does the proposed solution enable great commuter experience?

It is good approach.

How attractive is this idea for partners from transportation, business, government, non profit or other sectors to get involved?

ADVANTAGES: Least expensive Used at high speed ranges(16 -112 kmph) Can monitor upto four lanes.

Environmental impact, whether the proposed idea in predominantly service based without adding more physical structures

No environmental effect

Organized By

Panel of Judges

Bapu Kaladhar Shyama Sundar Duriseti Pratima Gupta Komal Mangu Paridhi Varma Ranjeet Kumar Tayi Srikanth Rangavajhala Raghu Reddy Arnab Chakravarty Rashmi Munshi Raman Khanna Sanjukta Das Prerak Mehta Usha Vikas Patri Ashish Tiwari Kalyan Rayapeta Bijey Shayak Sen Vinay Ahuja Shyamala Prayaga

Dates & Deadlines

  • 25-Sep-2013 :
    Deadline for Registration
  • 30-Sep-2013 :
    Deadline for submitting your projects
  • 01-Oct-2013 :
    Announcement of top 50 entries
  • 03-Oct-2013 :
    Deadline to entroll Techease 2013
  • 16-Oct-2013 :
    Deadline for voting by friends
  • 17-Oct-2013 :
    Presentation of the 50 shortlisted projects at the TechEase at IIITHyderabad
  • 19-Oct-2013 :
    Announcement of the final iINNOVATE prizes and award winners
  • 26-Oct-2013 :
    Winners may present at IIMBangalore at UXINDIA’13 conference

Share This

× close

Themer color options