UMO Global Student Challenge 2013

Intelligent Traffic Light And Density Control Using Ir Sensors And Microcontroller

Published On : 30-Sep-13 05:29:20 | 3560 Views 170 Votes
What is the identified problem?

Normal automatic traffic controller gives green signals with some constant time delay. Here controller works without taking traffic density into consideration. It is the main drawback of present traffic control system.

Brief about Solution

It works based on “TRAFFIC DENSITY”.
If we consider a junction,the  traffic from all the direction may not be same . At that time it gives the green signal based on traffic density.
   In this technique we are using IR Transmitter and IR Receiver.    IR Transmitter transmit IR rays continuously,IR receiver receives these signals.    If any obstacle or disturbance present between these two devices communication will cutoff , no information will pass.   So depending upon the IR receiver signal we perform corresponding action upon the micro-controller.
As Micro-controller has inbuilt I/O ports, we connect the IR receiver to the I/P port of the Micro-controller.  For controlling of traffic we are using Green,Red and Yellow LED’s, These LED’s are connected to the O/P port of the micro-controller.  When there is more traffic micro-controller give signal to green LED,then it will glow. By using softwares like: Embedded C ,Keil IDE ,Uc Flash , we enter the programming part into the micro-controller.

How well does the proposed solution enable great commuter experience?

This is very useful in metropolitan cities.

How attractive is this idea for partners from transportation, business, government, non profit or other sectors to get involved?

As this is less expensive it is beneficial to all.

Environmental impact, whether the proposed idea in predominantly service based without adding more physical structures

There is no effect on environment because.... Relatively long wavelengths of light used in IR system makes them less susceptible to weather effects.

Organized By

Panel of Judges

Bapu Kaladhar Shyama Sundar Duriseti Pratima Gupta Komal Mangu Paridhi Varma Ranjeet Kumar Tayi Srikanth Rangavajhala Raghu Reddy Arnab Chakravarty Rashmi Munshi Raman Khanna Sanjukta Das Prerak Mehta Usha Vikas Patri Ashish Tiwari Kalyan Rayapeta Bijey Shayak Sen Vinay Ahuja Shyamala Prayaga

Dates & Deadlines

  • 25-Sep-2013 :
    Deadline for Registration
  • 30-Sep-2013 :
    Deadline for submitting your projects
  • 01-Oct-2013 :
    Announcement of top 50 entries
  • 03-Oct-2013 :
    Deadline to entroll Techease 2013
  • 16-Oct-2013 :
    Deadline for voting by friends
  • 17-Oct-2013 :
    Presentation of the 50 shortlisted projects at the TechEase at IIITHyderabad
  • 19-Oct-2013 :
    Announcement of the final iINNOVATE prizes and award winners
  • 26-Oct-2013 :
    Winners may present at IIMBangalore at UXINDIA’13 conference

Share This

× close

Themer color options